Mrs. Hawaii United States 2013 pageant update

This is to follow up on my previous post about running for Mrs. Hawaii United States 2013.

We are in countdown mode on my journey towards the crown. Our official pageant date is set for Saturday, April 27, 2013 at 2 pm HST. The location is at Mamiya Theater in Honolulu, HI. I am in the thick if choosing gowns, hairstyles, accessories, securing sponsors, you name it!

A huge part of my preparation is preparing for interviews and making sure I represent my platform well. My platform is Autism Awareness and Anti-Bullying Awareness. For those who follow me here, you know my son has been my biggest inspiration for this. What I am asking you now is to tell me what about Autism and Anti-Bullying you feel needs to be known.

I know these are very general ideas. With your help I’m hoping I can represent all of us living with Autism and bullying by truly voicing concerns we all have. For those of you reading this who may not know someone with Autism or someone who’s been bullied, what questions do you have? Or what misconceptions have you heard? Mahalo (thank you) for your time!

About aspiewarriormom

Mom to an amazing son who has Asperger's. Have become an advocate to help other families working through an Austim spectrum diagnosis as well as individuals who have been or are being bullied. I've developed a program called Embrace Uniqueness: Embracing Autism, Promoting Empathy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mrs. Hawaii United States 2013 pageant update

  1. SharingMom says:

    Good for you! I will support you in whatever way I can. I would say that in the awareness portion of your platform, it would be good to address that autism is not necessarily a life sentence and significant improvements can be made with various therapies and early intervention. That has been our experience. Amongst the many therapies that worked for us, dietary modifcations has had the biggest impact on improvement of symptoms. I am working on documenting our journey and nutritional program we followed. To learn more, you can see my blog (sharingmom.com).
    Also, it is important for the public to understand the varying degrees of autism and thus the naming of it as a “Spectrum”. There are many faces of autism. I don’t think the general populus appreciates this. Thanks!

    • Mahalo for your input! Truly valuable indeed. I love you blog too. I agree that diet has been very beneficial for my son. I strongly agree that interventions help them cope to lead a very productive life. And yes, that it is a spectrum and has many faces… 1 in 88:-)

      • Sherrie Beppu says:

        Maybe you can consider adding that behind the disability there is still a kid or adult with feelings, thoughts, ideas, desires to communicate, make friends and want to be accepted.

        Another point to think about is to educate or highlight some of the positive aspects of students on the spectrum.

        Sometimes we work so hard on the day to day struggles, dietary modifications, structured schedules, or advocating for appropriate services, we overlook some of the amazing talents that our spectrum kiddos have.
        My nephew has perfect pitch and can mimic the sound of one of the starships perfectly. He can recite all facts about Star Wars, and celebrates his family’s accomplishments with enthusiasm and without any resentments.
        One of my former students is an
        exceptional artist. Another student has perfect rhythm and can reproduce the rhythm of a song after hearing it only once. My student who will be graduating this year can retain and recite or paraphrase any page of a book containing over 500 pages.

        You know I’m one of your biggest cheerleader and know that you’ll win. My nephew has a great mom.

      • Wonderful points! All are the and yes, we do need to focus on the many positive things and not just the negative. Like that wonderful little boy says, “I don’t want to get rid of my aspies, I just want to be safe and have friends.”

Leave a Reply

